Skip to main content
Carnoustie 2021

Popov in star grouping


Tee times for rounds one and two

Sophia Popov in action

Reigning AIG Women’s Open Champion Sophia Popov will begin the defence of her title in an eye-catching group with Sei Young Kim and Jessica Korda.

The tee times for rounds one and two were officially announced on Tuesday, with Popov – the shock winner at Royal Troon 12 months ago – in group 30 alongside last year’s KPMG Women’s PGA Champion Kim and world number 14 Korda.

That high-class trio is scheduled to tee off at 12:05pm BST, with several other big names close behind.

The Champion of 2015, Inbee Park, is due out with Yealimi Noh and Leona Maguire at 12:27pm, while Hinako Shibuno, who won the AIG Women’s Open in 2019, is in the next group with another past Champion, Ariya Jutanugarn, and Austin Ernst.

They are followed by three members of the world’s top 12 in Brooke Henderson, Yuka Saso and Lexi Thompson, who will begin their rounds at 12:49pm.

World number one Nelly Korda is in Thursday’s morning wave and will tee off at 8:09am with Nasa Hataoka and Charley Hull.

A trio of major winners are in the 7:47am slot for round one, Danielle Kang joined by Patty Tavatanakit and Alim Kim, while Lydia Ko goes off at 7:58am with Ayaka Furue and Jennifer Kupcho.

Minjee Lee, who broke her major duck at last month’s Evian Championship, is another morning starter on the opening day. The Australian is out at 7:36am with So Yeon Ryu and two-time Smyth Salver winner Atthaya Thitikul.

Georgia Hall, the Champion at Royal Lytham and St Annes three years ago, will play with Women’s Amateur Champion Louise Duncan and Megan Khang. That group goes out just before Popov on Thursday, at 11:54am.

The action will begin on Thursday at 6:30am, with Scotland’s Kelsey MacDonald hitting the opening tee shot and playing alongside Sarah Schmelzel and Chloe Williams.

Click here to see all of the tee times and groups for rounds one and two.