Skip to main content
Ashleigh Buhai with the AIG Women


About the aig women's open

The 2023 AIG Women's Open will be held at Walton Heath from 10-13 August, marking the 47th playing of the event and the 23rd as a major championship.

The 2022 edition, held at Muirfield, was won by Ashleigh Buhai, who will return to Walton Heath as just the second South African to defend the AIG Women's Open title

However, those numbers do not tell the whole story of one of the most cherished events in the world of golf. You can explore the history of the Championship further here.

First played at Fulford in York in 1976, after morphing from the Ladies Amateur Stroke Play Championship to include professional players, the event has quickly grown to become the most international major in women's golf and one of the most prestigious.

The champions list of the AIG Women's Open is a who's who of great golfers in modern times, with their victories collected on an array of well-known courses that are much loved around the world.

The tournament is played over all types of British golf courses, from parkland and heathland layouts to traditional links venues.

Since 1979, the Smyth Salver has been awarded to the lowest scoring amateur player returning a score for 72 holes, with Louise Duncan winning in 2021 with her wonderful performance. Like the list of champions, the Smyth Salver has a high profile list of winners, including Michelle Wie, Anna Nordqvist, Lydia Ko, Danielle Kang and the 2018 AIG Women's Open champion Georgia Hall.

History and Records

Explore a list of records and winners over the AIG Women's Open's illustrious history.


 Drive Forward Together

Hinako Shibuno with spectators

Drive Forward Together

Drive Forward Together with the AIG Women's Open


“The AIG Women's Open was always a special event, and just to play in it was special” Karrie Webb
“As a British person, the AIG Women's Open is without a doubt the one you want to win” Catriona Matthew
“I would love to win more AIG Women's Opens, it's still my favourite major by far” GeorgiA Hall


History of AIG Women's Open Champions
*Brackets () indicate number of times won or hosted

Year Champion Nationality Venue Score
2022 Ashleigh Buhai South Africa Muirfield  274 
2021 Anna Nordqvist Sweden Carnoustie (2) 276
2020 Sophia Popov Germany Royal Troon 277
2019 Hinako Shibuno Japan Woburn, Marquess Course (2) 270
2018 Georgia Hall England Royal Lytham & St Annes (5) 271
2017 In-Kyung Kim South Korea Kingsbarns 270
2016 Ariya Jutanugarn Thailand Woburn, Marquess Course 272
2015 Inbee Park South Korea Turnberry Ailsa (2) 276
2014 Mo Martin United States Royal Birkdale (6) 287
2013 Stacy Lewis United States St Andrews (2) 280
2012 Jiyai Shin (2) South Korea Royal Liverpool 279
2011 Yani Tseng (2) Chinese Taipei Carnoustie 272
2010 Yani Tseng Chinese Taipei Royal Birkdale (5) 277
2009 Catriona Matthew Scotland Royal Lytham & St Annes (4) 285
2008 Jiyai Shin South Korea Sunningdale (4) 270
2007 Lorena Ochoa Mexico St Andrews 287
2006 Sherri Steinhauer (3) United States Royal Lytham & St Annes (3) 281
2005 Jeong Jang South Korea Royal Birkdale (4) 272
2004 Karen Stupples England Sunningdale (3) 269
2003 Annika Sörenstam Sweden Royal Lytham & St Annes (2) 278
2002 Karrie Webb (3) Australia Turnberry Ailsa 273
2001 Se Ri Pak South Korea Sunningdale (2) 277
2000 Sophie Gustafson Sweden Royal Birkdale (3) 282
1999 Sherri Steinhauer (2) United States Woburn, Duke's Course (9) 283
1998 Sherri Steinhauer United States Royal Lytham & St Annes 292
1997 Karrie Webb (2) Australia Sunningdale 269
1996 Emilee Klein United States Woburn, Duke's Course (8) 277
1995 Karrie Webb Australia Woburn, Duke's Course (7) 278
1994 Liselotte Neumann Sweden Woburn, Duke's Course (6) 280
1993 Karen Lunn Australia Woburn, Duke's Course (5) 275
1992 Patty Sheehan United States Woburn, Duke's Course (4) 207
1991 Penny Grice-Whittaker England Woburn, Duke's Course (3) 284
1990 Helen Alfredsson Sweden Woburn, Duke's Course (2) 288
1989 Jane Geddes United States Ferndown 274
1988 Corinne Dibnah Australia Lindrick (2) 295
1987 Alison Nicholas England St Mellion 296
1986 Laura Davies England Royal Birkdale (2) 283
1985 Betsy King United States Moor Park 300
1984 Ayako Okamoto Japan Woburn, Duke's Course 289
1983 No Championship N/A N/A N/A
1982 Marta Figueras-Dotti (a) Spain Royal Birkdale 296
1981 Debbie Massey (2) United States Northumberland 295
1980 Debbie Massey United States Wentworth 294
1979 Alison Sheard South Africa Southport & Ainsdale 301
1978 Janet Melville (a) England Foxhills 310
1977 Vivien Saunders England Lindrick 306
1976 Jenny Lee Smith (a) England Fulford 299