Skip to main content

AIG Women's Open


World-class venues announced through to 2025

Hall Shibuno article

The R&A has underlined its commitment to enhancing the AIG Women’s Open’s status as a leading major sporting event by announcing five world-class venues for championships being played from 2021 to 2025.

The future championship venues for the AIG Women’s Open are:

• 2021 – Carnoustie

• 2022 – Muirfield

• 2023 – Walton Heath

• 2024 – St Andrews

• 2025 – Royal Porthcawl

Martin Slumbers, Chief Executive of The R&A, said, “With our partners at AIG, we have a real ambition to grow and elevate the AIG Women’s Open for the benefit of the world’s leading golfers and so we are excited to confirm our intention to play the next five championships at these renowned courses.

“It has truly been a collaborative effort from all the venues involved to make this schedule possible and the flexibility that they have shown in adjusting their own calendars has been vital in allowing us to confirm our plans for the championship through to 2025.

“We are grateful for their support, particularly during a time when golf has been impacted by the ongoing pandemic, and we look forward to working with these venues to deliver an outstanding experience to be enjoyed by everyone involved in the AIG Women’s Open.”

Peter Zaffino, President and Global Chief Operating Officer, AIG, commented, “AIG is pleased to partner with The R&A to increase visibility and engagement in women’s professional golf by enhancing the global stature of the AIG Women’s Open. We proudly welcome the involvement of these venerable courses, which will be fitting hosts for these accomplished golfers as they compete at the highest level.”

The AIG Women's Open trophy

Muirfield, Walton Heath and Royal Porthcawl will be hosting the women’s major championship for the first time.

Muirfield has a prestigious history of hosting major championships, having held The Open on 16 occasions. It also hosted The Curtis Cup in 1952 and 1984 as well as the Vagliano Trophy in 1963 and 1975.

Walton Heath has been a venue for the Ryder Cup, the Senior Open presented by Rolex and the British Masters.

Royal Porthcawl has held The Amateur Championship on seven occasions and was the venue for the Walker Cup in 1995 when Great Britain and Ireland defeated a United States of America team featuring Tiger Woods. It has also hosted the Senior Open presented by Rolex, the Curtis Cup and the British Masters.

The Old Course at St Andrews will stage the championship for the third time after Lorena Ochoa and Stacy Lewis won the title over the world-famous links in 2007 and 2013. The AIG Women’s Open will return to Carnoustie for the first time since 2011, when Yani Tseng successfully defended her title.

The AIG Women’s Open will take place from 16-22 August 2021 at Carnoustie, with tickets now on sale via

Adult tickets will start from £20 with children aged 16 years or under before the championship admitted free of charge. Spectators aged 24 years or under will be entitled to purchase youth (16-24 years) tickets. A £5 Mastercard discount is available per transaction.

All future championship dates will be announced in due course.

“With our partners at AIG, we have a real ambition to grow and elevate the AIG Women's Open for the benefit of the world's leading golfers.” MARTIN SLUMBERS, CHIEF EXECUTIVE OF THE R&A

Representatives of all five future host venues expressed their delight at the prospect of staging the AIG Women’s Open.

Pat Sawers, Chair, Carnoustie Golf Links, said: “I am delighted to welcome the AIG Women’s Open back to Carnoustie in 2021. The event was a tremendous success in 2011 and I regard it as a privilege to host the championship and look forward to seeing the world’s top players face the challenge of Carnoustie once again.”

Alastair Campbell, Captain, the Honourable Company of Edinburgh Golfers, said: “The Honourable Company relishes the prospect of hosting the AIG Women’s Open in 2022. I know our members and many others will be enthusiastic in welcoming the world’s best women golfers as they tackle our famous championship links.”

Dr Alastair Wells, Chairman, Walton Heath, added: “Hosting the AIG Women's Open, one of the ladies majors, is a great honour for Walton Heath and will add to our rich golfing heritage. We were proud last year to sign up to The R&A Women in Golf Charter and we very much hope that this event will provide a great boost for women’s golf in London and the United Kingdom.”

Euan Loudon, Chief Executive, St Andrews Links Trust, said: “We are delighted that the AIG Women’s Open will return to our calendar of prestigious events at the Home of Golf. Since first hosting the Championship in 2007 it has produced hugely entertaining, memorable weeks and worthy champions to join the Old Course’s illustrious honour roll. We look forward to welcoming the world’s greatest golfers to our famous Links in 2024.”

Dr Jonathan Chapman, Captain, Royal Porthcawl, stated: “We are enormously excited to welcome the best female golfers in the world to Wales in 2025. Georgia Hall and Charley Hull both featured in the Junior Vagliano Trophy played at Royal Porthcawl in 2011 and it will be fantastic to see them return in their prime. The membership, staff and Welsh public look forward to the event with great anticipation.”