Skip to main content

An elite quintet


Just five women have won the AIG Women's Open more than once

Sherri Steinhauer

In the rich and storied history of the AIG Women’s Open, just five players have lifted the trophy more than once.

From the completion of Super Slams to setting Championship records, let’s take a look at those who can call themselves multiple winners…

Debbie Massey

Debbie Massey (1980, 1981)

Debbie Massey, a former skiing instructor, gave her golfing rivals a lesson over consecutive AIG Women’s Opens.

Wentworth in 1980 was the scene of Massey’s first victory – and a first AIG Women’s Open for a certain Dame Laura Davies, then 16 – as she became the first American to lift the coveted trophy.

Massey was five shots behind Spaniard Marta Figueras-Dotti after two rounds but rounds of 75 and 72 were enough for the Michigan ace to emerge clear of both Figueras-Dotti and Scottish amateur Belle Robertson by a stroke, sealing victory with a 20-foot putt.

Robertson was in contention again at Northumberland 12 months later but once more finished second to Massey, who shot a two-under-par 72 in her final round to bounce back strongly from an 81 the previous day, after which she changed her grip.

Karrie Webb

Karrie Webb (1995, 1997, 2002)

Australian Karrie Webb was just 20 when she emerged victorious for the first time in 1995, coming home six shots clear of Annika Sörenstam and Jill McGill.

An eagle on the 18th in her third round set Webb up perfectly for the final day at Woburn, which she began with four birdies in the opening 10 holes to establish an unassailable advantage.

Two years later, her winning margin was even more comprehensive as Webb took Sunningdale apart. She finished on 19-under-par after an aggregate score of 269, both of which are competition records, shared with Karen Stupples, to finish eight shots clear.

Those two trophies were lifted before the event became an LPGA major in 2001, leaving Webb needing to win it again to re-complete her career Grand Slam.

She did not need long to do so, mounting a memorable final-day comeback in 2002. Beginning three shots behind clubhouse leader Paula Marti, Webb’s prayers for wet weather were answered at Turnberry.

Webb mastered the tricky conditions to turn the tables and had a three-shot advantage of her own halfway down the back nine. Even being put ‘on the clock’ by a rules official did not halt her momentum and she ultimately came home two strokes clear.

"It's one of the best rounds I can remember," she said. “At the start of the year, I knew I had a chance to win all five majors on the LPGA. It feels great.”

Sherri Steinhauer

Sherri Steinhauer (1998, 1999, 2006)

Like Webb, Sherri Steinhauer won two AIG Women’s Opens before it became a major, then topped up her tally with one more to draw level at the top of the all-time winners’ leaderboard.

The first of her trio, at Royal Lytham & St Annes in 1998, came in unlikely circumstances. Steinhauer was 10 shots adrift after the first round but reeled off rounds of 72, 70 and 69 to finish a stroke clear at the summit.


“After my [first round] 81, the only thing I dreamed of was changing my flight because I would have to leave early,” she said. “At that stage, my only real goal was making the cut.”

The following year, the Wisconsin native became one of just three players to defend an AIG Women’s Open when holding off Sörenstam at Woburn and she was back at the top of the tree in 2006.

Returning to the scene of her maiden triumph, Steinhauer again made a slow start, carding an opening-day 73. But 48 holes without a dropped shot followed and she was ultra-consistent on the final day, with 16 pars joined by a birdie and a bogey as she prevailed by three strokes to become the oldest winner of the AIG Women’s Open at 43.

Jiyai Shin

Jiyai Shin (2008, 2012)

Jiyai Shin picked up her first AIG Women’s Open title at Sunningdale in 2008.

Rounds of 66 bookended the week for the South Korean, who finished on 18-under-par to became the competition’s youngest winner at 20 years and 97 days old.

She was in similarly imperious form at Royal Liverpool in 2012, when she was the only player to finish in the red on the way to recording the largest margin of victory in the Championship’s major era.

Shin’s superb second-round 64 was the lowest score shot by a woman on the Hoylake course, eclipsing the previous record by three.

Poor weather on the Friday meant players had to complete their final two rounds on Sunday but that posed no problem for Shin, who wrapped up victory by backing up a 71 with a 73 to stay well clear of those in pursuit.

"It was a long, long, very tough day and I just focused on each single shot,” she said. “I thought my skill was not good for links, but finally I have great tempo in my swing and I think this course was made for me.”

Yani Tseng

Yani Tseng (2010, 2011)

Yani Tseng led from start to finish for the first of her AIG Women’s Open victories at Royal Birkdale in 2010.

Tied at the top alongside Katherine Hull after day one, she made the lead her own thereafter but needed to overcome a late wobble before etching her name on the trophy.

Tseng began the final day with a four-shot lead but bogeys at 3, 8 and 10 left the door ajar for Hull, who moved to within one courtesy of a pair of birdies on the back nine.

But a poor third shot on the 18th cost the Australian a play-off chance and Tseng held on, saying: "I was so tired, there was so much pressure and expectations – it was an unbelievable day for me.

Tseng took a different route to the 2011 crown at Carnoustie, this time having to emerge from the chasing pack. Consecutive rounds of 66 on days two and three fired her into contention after an opening 71, but she still went into the final round two shots behind Caroline Masson.

The German’s challenge faded and Tseng took full advantage, compiling a three-under 69 to finish on 16-under for the week and become the youngest golfer, male or female, to win five majors.